One of the challenges that Karen and I have had since we’ve started our business on a full-time basis is managing our reactions to the good and not so good moments.

We’ve had a couple of weeks when we haven’t had as many clients as we had hoped or when there have been a few last minute cancellations, which can easily lead us to momentarily doubt the long-term viability of our business.

Conversely, there have been weeks where we’ve had an increase in clients ( and money) and are tempted to go around high-fiving each other, thinking that we are the second coming of Sir Richard Branson.

Then, I came across from Rudyard Kipling’s inspiring poem, “If” which contains this line, “If you can meet with Triumph and Disaster, and treat those two impostors just the same.”

It’s a great reminder to stay focused and not get too high when things go well or too low when they go wrong.

There will be great moments and I’m all for celebrating minor victories, but if I get too far ahead of myself, then I will get distracted from doing the work required to take advantage of the situation, build momentum and replicate (or even improve) the positive results.

And when we have disappointing outcomes, I also need to stay focused.  It doesn’t matter if I’ve made a mistake or if the outcome was out of my control, if I mope around or lose faith, then the negative state will last longer then it needs to and distract me from learning from the experience and executing a strategy that will get us back on track.

Life in business will inevitably result in triumphs and disasters (hopefully more of the first than the second), but if we understand how temporary each event is and respond emotionally to them in a very similar manner, then I am better equipped to do the work of marketing our business and doing our best for our clients without distraction.

This doesn’t just impact our business.  In parenting, leadership, marriage, health and other aspects of life, there will be moments of triumph and disaster for all of us.

So let’s not get too emotionally attached to temporary outcomes and stay focused on being our best in every aspect of our lives.

Previous post – 10 Questions To Get Your Kids Talking More

Next post – Things That Go Bump in the Night