Just imagine going to the local police station.

You’re taken into questioning and you’re asked about your alibi.

Most alibis are required to see what you were doing when a crime was committed.  Can you prove your whereabouts at a certain time?  Is it airtight?  Can you prove that you didn’t do what they are alleging?

But this one’s different.

This alibi is to find what your reason is for not doing more with your life or reaching for your dreams.  It’s a crime of omission, not a crime of commission.

Here’s the usual list of alibis that people use to justify their lives:

  • I don’t have enough time.
  • I don’t deserve success.
  • No one in my family has ever done anything meaningful, how can I?
  • I don’t have the energy.
  • I’m not educated or smart enough.
  • I don’t have enough money.
  • I’m not lucky like other people.
  • I’m comfortable the way I am.
  • I’m too insignificant.
  • Perhaps I’ll start when… (enter your usual excuse here)

There is no excuse that’s good enough to justify not living your best life.

It’s time to get rid of your alibi.

Previous post – I’m Glad I did or I Wish I Did?

Next post – A Carrot, an Egg and a Cup of Coffee – A Story About Dealing With Challenges